NaNoWriMo

National Novel Writer’s Month…November.  I’ll have papers coming due twice during the month, grabbing my attention and focus twice.  Interrupting writing productivity and thought processes.

This year, at least.

I think I’ve come up with a strategy that will allow me to get at least something done, if not a whole novel written in a month.  I have, at current count, about four projects unfinished: The Schrodinger Paradox, Detritus, Lost (a vampire story), and Normalcy Bias (collection of short fiction).  Instead of trying to get a whole new novel plotted out and written, I’m going to finish as many as I can over the course of the month, between 5 day long grading binges.

I AM aiming at around 50-60 K words done, minimum.  I don’t have a whole lot to go on the first two projects, or on the last one.  It’s Lost that is going to take a lot of focus and uninterrupted writing time.

So far, I’ve got a lot planned.  I am aiming at a lot done.  I will be aiming at a lot more–say, every other month something new finished and coming out–in 2018, for as long as I can keep that up.

I think it’s going to be fun to see what I can actually accomplish.

And no, I won’t be constantly whinging about writing this month.  And I won’t give updates unless/until I actually finish a draft of something.

I may go into something I’ve learned about the writing process itself, but that will be as far as writing about writing goes.