Sorry!

Yeah, I dropped the ball on this blog. I should have let y’all know that I had a new story out in December, in the Modern Gods world (it’s short, and Thanksgiving/Christmas themed). I should have let y’all know that the third installment of the Liquid Diet Chronicles was live. That my new short story (“Holidays and Holy Days”) is available as audio. That I’m still working…

In a couple of words, shit happened. Thanksgiving into Christmas into the New Year…and then my mom died. Suddenly. I mean, I knew it was coming, but I thought she’d have a chance to enjoy her Christmas present (a pretty bedspread set, summer weight) while she was bed-bound for her last months. 

She didn’t have those last months. Thank God. She went fast, and she went relatively painless. Boom and gone. On January 6. Epiphany, for those of y’all who are Christian. She was 78.

I’m struggling, honestly, but writing does help. 

So. Updates. Starting with published, moving through preorder, and then from mostly finished to in-progress. 

Holidays and Holy Days” came out Dec. 1, and got audio-booked…last week? I think? 

Liquid Diet Chronicles 3: Whine in a Box came out on 1/7. 

Faerie Gifts is available for preorder, and will be out in April. It’s a collection of short stories, something like The Dragon’s in the Details. 

Certified Public Assassin is in the hands of one beta reader, and I’ll contact my others as they and I get time. I’m planning on an August release for it. 

I’ve got two projects about 2/3 of the way done, and a couple more in planning stages. First off is the surprise novel I mentioned–Dogfather. It’s currently sitting at 23K words, and is probably at least 10-15k to go. Short novel, but…yeah. I thought it was going to be a short story in Faerie Gifts, but it…well. It got hijacked by one of the characters, and it doesn’t fit, either in theme or in length.

The other was something of a what the actual [redacted] am I doing writing this? project. It’s a romance. I think it’s going to top out at maybe 20K words. But it’s come out suddenly and fast. I’m not having an easy time with it because 1) I don’t read romance, and don’t know reader expectations for it, and 2) I want to slap the stupid out of the main character. No, seriously–she’s the least self-aware character I’ve written, and has no idea what her own wants and motivations really are. Then again, she’s twenty-two, and just out of college, and what she actually wants wasn’t socially acceptable where she was.

In the planning/early writing stages is Cold Fey Fire. Main character’s a fresh high school graduate who’s been in the foster system her whole life, and is about to meet her mother’s relatives…and her father’s. She’s a bit more than half-elf, because her mother was about an eighth, and her father was full. I’ve got about half the first chapter written long hand. 

In the planning-planning stages (as in, the character’s starting to talk to me) is Liquid Diet Chronicles book 4. Right now, I’m playing with titles, but I’m not sure all of what’s going on. Meg’s currently having hysterics combined with temper tantrums in my head. 

I am still working, and I will be having several things coming out this year. Hopefully, I can keep things going at this pace. At least. 

And I’ll try to keep y’all up to date.